Odds to win Super Bowl MVP: Where do the star QBs fit in?

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts (1) in action against the Dallas Cowboys during an NFL football game, Sunday, Oct. 16, 2022, in Philadelphia. (AP Photo/Rich Schultz)

The point spreads of both NFL conference championship games Sunday are less than three points, and the lookahead lines suggest the Super Bowl will be the same. So it’s difficult to pick a champion — and equally difficult to predict the Super Bowl MVP. That’s reflected in the MVP market at FanDuel Sportsbook.

Philadelphia Eagles quarterback Jalen Hurts is the +290 favorite to win MVP of the big game. The Eagles are +230 to win the Super Bowl, so the odds suggest that Hurts would be very likely to win the MVP in that case.

He is followed in very short order by Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (+300) and Cincinnati Bengals QB Joe Burrow (+340). The fourth remaining starting quarterback, Brock Purdy of the San Francisco 49ers, is +650.

Among non-quarterbacks, 49ers running back Christian McCaffrey has the best odds to be Super Bowl MVP at +1700. He’s followed by wide receiver Ja’Marr Chase, at +2400. Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce is +2800, followed by two more wide receivers, the 49ers’ Deebo Samuel at +2800 and the Eagles’ A.J. Brown at +3500. 49ers defensive end Nick Bosa is at +4900 and is the only defensive player lower than 60 to 1.

Last year, Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp won the MVP, snapping a run of four quarterback winners in five years. In all, quarterbacks have won 31 of 56 MVP awards, with receivers next at eight MVP trophies and running backs/fullbacks at seven. McCaffrey could become the first running back to win MVP since the Denver Broncos’ Terrell Davis in Super Bowl XXXII in January 1998. Kelce would be the first tight end ever to win the award.

The award has gone to defensive players nine times, most recently to then-Broncos linebacker Von Miller at Super Bowl 50 in February 2016.

Super Bowl MVP odds

(From FanDuel Sportsbook as of Friday evening)

Jalen Hurts, Eagles QB +290

Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs QB +300

Joe Burrow, Bengals QB +340

Brock Purdy, 49ers QB +650

Christian McCaffrey, 49ers RB +1700

Ja’Marr Chase, Bengals WR +2400

Travis Kelce, Chiefs TE +2800

Deebo Samuel, 49ers WR +2800

A.J. Brown, Eagles WR +3500

Devonta Smith, Eagles WR +4500

Nick Bosa, 49ers DE +4900

Chad Henne, Chiefs QB +5000

George Kittle, 49ers TE +5500

Jimmy Garoppolo, 49ers QB +6500

Darius Slay, Eagles CB +8000

Brandon Aiyuk, 49ers WR +8500

Joe Mixon, Bengals RB +8500

Tee Higgins, Bengals WR +9000

Miles Sanders, Eagles RB +9500

JuJu Smith-Schuster, Chiefs WR +10000

Fred Warner, 49ers LB +10000

Haason Reddick, Eagles LB +11000

Brandon Graham, Eagles DE +12000

Sam Hubbard, Bengals DE +12000

Jessie Bates, Bengals S +13000

Dallas Goedert, Eagles TE +13000

Trey Hendrickson, Bengals DE +13000

Jerick McKinnon, Chiefs RB +13000

Isiah Pacheco, Chiefs RB +13000

Talanoa Hufanga, 49ers S +14000

Tyler Boyd, Bengals WR +15000

CJ Gardner-Johnson, Eagles S +20000

Quez Watkins, Eagles WR +20000

Kenneth Gainwell, Eagles RB +20000

Gardner Minshew, Eagles QB +20000


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here